Introducing the McDonald Autistic Pride & Neurodiversity Lending Library!

Parenting Autistic Children With Love & Acceptance

Autism Acceptance Libraries are popping up all over!  We are so excited to highlight the work of Rebecca McDonald and the McDonald Autistic Pride & Neurodiversity Lending Library in Boston, MA!

Can you introduce and tell us a little about yourself?

I am a 45 year old mom of four Autistic children living in the Boston area with my husband, kids, and two cats. I self-identify as being Autistic, after giving much thought to the way that I have always perceived and interacted with the world, despite suppressing myself for so long in an effort to blend in. Two of my children are nonspeaking, and I have been learning Rapid Prompting Method (RPM) to teach them academics and to learn to communicate by typing.

How are you connected to autism & the neurodiversity movement?

When my kids were diagnosed, the main “resources” available were therapies aimed at changing…

View original post 774 more words

Leave a Reply

