“I’m the only one who can take care of you properly.”

I reblogged this a long time ago, but am reblogging it again, because i myself have been through several caregivers who were awful nightmares.
Our stories are the only way of making people aware that caregiver abuse happens, it is real, and having a bad caregiver can leave us worse off than we were before.

Ballastexistenz

“Do you want a full bed bath?” she said. “I’m going to be gone for a full week, and I know you won’t want anyone else doing it for you.”

Uh-oh. I made a mental note to ask her other clients if this meant whatbi thought it meant.

I usually don’t get an entire bed bath at a time because it wears me out. But that wasn’t the issue. I have very sensitive radar for certain warning signals from caregivers. It’s a survival thing. And I freak out a little at any hint of “You need me, I’m the only one who can take care of you properly.”

The weird thing about it is she’s not even that good at her job. I mean she gets the basics done. But she does a lot of things that seem little and aren’t, if that makes any sense.

Like she scrubs too…

View original post 1,022 more words

Leave a Reply

